My tastebuds are loving winter

Even though I failed to do any kind of comprehensive canning/freezing to keep the bounty of the summer around until deep winter, my tastebuds and tummy have been happy with what I’ve been serving them as of late.  Here are a few favorites, as well as a recipe I want to try:

  • Five Minutes a Day Bread – I make a batch of this almost every week, which probably results in more carbs than I actually need.  But it’s so amazingly easy/delicious.
  • Squash Hash – I sort of invented my own version of this that had squash, potatoes, onions, turnips, carrots and thyme, and no sorrel.  It lasted me many meals and filled me right up.
  • Local hydroponic lettuce – This goes on almost everything I eat: eggs, bread, the above squash hash.  My favorite part is that the mixed greens are different every week.
  • Ancient Secret Quinoa Salad – how do people feel about goji berries?  Quinoa is one of my favorite grains, and I can’t wait to try this salad.
About Lauren

An aspiring and practicing writer, communitarian, sustainable gardener, community organizer, and adventurer, I am spending September and October 2013 on a solo bike tour of the Mississippi River, following a momentous tumultuous year of questions and changes. I am currently great at talking, not always at listening. Full of opinions, but not as much vulnerability. I hope to be a continuing student of life, discovering my own wisdom and opening to the wisdom in the experience of others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My tastebuds are loving winter

  1. Thanks for linking to my blog post. The Ancient Secret Quinoa Salad is quite delicious and so healthful. I like the looks of your vegetable hash. I’m also a huge fan of Artisan Bread in 5. It gets a little dangerous for me to have bread dough in my refrigerator all set to bake. I love bread with lots of butter!

Leave a Reply

