Sensory overload.

The past week or so has been rife with excellent yet over-stimulating media.  Last night Benjamin and I went to see Enter the Void at the St. Anthony Main Theatre, a “psychedelic melodrama” by somewhat controversial French director Gaspar Noe.  For a bit of context, his previous film Irreversible (which I have not seen and likely will never do so) is said to have one of the most disturbing rape scenes in cinematic history.  Enter the Void was beautiful and terrifying at once.  I was nauseated for the first 45 minutes solid, and left the film with a headache.  Worth seeing for certain, for the unique intensity if nothing else, but absolutely one of those movies I never need to see again.  Much like Requiem for a Dream, in fact.

Earlier this week I saw the much more-traditional cinema-goer-friendly Inception.  Not nearly as neon-drugs-motion-craziness as Enter the Void, but somewhat of a mind***k nonetheless.  My dreams after both viewings were exhausting, to say the least.

On top of the two films I have been reading The Vagrants, a superb historical fiction novel set in late 1970s China.  The details are astounding, the characterization is excellent, but the novel is emotionally depressing.  The plot centers around an execution of a young revolutionary woman who (minor spoiler alert) has her kidneys removed while she is still alive in order to complete a successful transplant for a high ranking political official.  The life of nearly all of the characters is threadbare and meager, a government-controlled, poverty-stricken existence.

So I’m taking a break.  A week, a month, I don’t know how long, but I’m taking a break from desolation, from over-stimulation, from intentionally distressing myself via media to no particularly fruitful outcome.  This does not mean I will be viewing solely romantic comedies and reading heinous ‘chick lit’ by any means.  It does mean I will pursue solutions, hope, joy, and true abundance, not only in my own life but in the lives of those in the media I interact with.  At least for the time being.

Leave a Reply

