Seven Wanders of My World

As we float into the thick of summer and the heart of vacation season, I’d like to finally do a post that’s been long in coming: the Seven Wanders of My World.  I’ll be heading out West soon on a road trip with friends culminating in a dear friend’s wedding in Portland while stopping at Glacier N.P., Whidbey Island, and other fabulous places along the way.  At the same time I’m dreaming of future adventures in years to come.

One of the many wonderful bloggers at Adventure Cycling wrote the original Seven Wanders of My World post, highlighting some great (albeit quite exotic) locales, and encouraging readers to make a list of their own.  Though I am now a committed bicyclist, my list is not limited to places I want to bike, because many of my dream adventures were established before I began bicycling.  In no particular order, I would like to:

1. Bicycle the Mississippi River Trail.  Benjamin and I hope to do this as a very belated honeymoon, though with shifting jobs it may be extremely belated indeed.

2. Hike the Appalachian Trail.  This has been a dream ever since I read A Walk in the Woods back in junior high, and was inspired by my father’s similar plan that has since been toned down a bit to do sections at a time rather than the 2,000+ miles in one go.  I still want to do the whole thing 🙂

3. Alaska.  Hike, bike, kayak, whatever.  Not wanting to drive might be a bit difficult though, considering the lack of a direct train route from the continental US to the Land of the Midnight Sun.

4. Hike the fjords of Norway.  I used to be infatuated with the misty moors of Ireland, but the heartstoppingly gorgeous vistas in I Am Dina convinced me that traversing one of the countries of my ancestry might be what I’m truly longing for.

5. Visit Prince Edward Island.  The land of Anne of Green Gables, a childhood heroine of mine, has always enchanted me.  Plus I have yet to go to Canada, and while my first trip will likely be to visit Ben’s family in Saskatchewan, hopefully PEI will not be far to follow.

6. Return to India.  I spent the fall semester of my sophomore year of college studying abroad in India, and while it was a beautiful experience, we visited so many cities that it was difficult to get a sense of any one in particular.  I would love to return and spend a month (or two, or three) in a city or two, likely Varanasi- the holy city of the Ganges- or somewhere up north in the Himalayas.

7. Canoe in the Boundary Waters.  I’m not as ashamed as a native Minnesotan might be at not yet having been to the Boundary Waters, despite being in Minnesota for almost six years, but the jewel of my adopted state is calling me.  Despite not being a water lover, the solace of the upstate wilderness area of Minnesota sounds glorious.

Now it’s your turn!  Do comment with a link to your blog if you do write your own Seven Wanders of My World post 🙂

3 thoughts on “Seven Wanders of My World

  1. The Boundary Waters are great…go out of Grand Marais if you go…up the Gunflint Trail. We use an outfitter called Hungry Jack Outfitters and they are wonderful to work with. I have been three times to the Boundary Waters and once to Quetico and there are days when you don’t see another human being (but you might run into a moose!) Make sure you bring someone strong to carry the canoe…I always carry the food!

Leave a Reply

