Rebirth on the Eve of Autumn

Sometimes living things and ideas appear to die.  Their time has seemingly come, with something new to certainly take their place.

Sometimes, however, this death is undone, tossed away, and a rebirth ensues.

In addition to my aloe plant having risen from the dead, in the last few weeks I have found myself in the midst of a resurgence of the deep interest and devotion I felt in high school to nothing other than intentional communities.  It peaked last night with this trailer:

Don’t mind the narration- I think it’s kind of silly too- but the concepts, the vision, the realities of creating and living with others in holistic relationship with the land is delicious, enticing and, most importantly, compelling.

I’m doing a bit of life reorganizing today, reimagining my priorities and focuses, my free time and my vocational path.  And nearly everything I’ve written so far has centered around creating intentional community, establishing space to be and learn and support and create and express and build the kinds of relationships that our individualistic, consumer culture makes so incredibly difficult, nigh impossible.

Ben and I are still looking for a house, which for me is one of the essential steps to inhabiting the community, creative life that I so crave.  We’re hitting a bit of a wall on the financial end- who knew that saving money rather than incurring debt via credit cards was such a financial failing?  But we’re pressing on, with the help of all sorts of people.  I’m generally failing at writing about finding and making home, but hope to return to it once August is over.

Uniting my work and heart’s goals is still an interesting adventure.  But such is life, yes?  What I truly love will be reborn until it fits properly into my life, I think.

5 thoughts on “Rebirth on the Eve of Autumn

  1. Just stumbled on your blog while floating around wordpress, & I totally relate to your comments about an intentional community. It’s something that’s been on my mind too, & I’m trying to make strides in my neighborhood. Best wishes! And thanks for the inspiration 🙂

  2. Your post was interesting. It is true, community is necessary to a healthy, maturing life. I don’t know where I would be without the people around me. And I love enjoying the nature that God created. Life just needs to be a bit more simplistic. Readjusting our priorities and altering our spaces always helps. A change of place and a change of pace always leads to a change of perspective.

Leave a Reply

