Save the food! Save the farms!

This could have been one of those Sundays spent bemoaning the end of the weekend.  I arrived back in Minneapolis around noon, relaxed from a weekend out at Ben’s parents place than included a music festival, sunset kayaking, and overnight french toast.  I wasn’t at all ready for the reality of work and responsibility tomorrow morning.  But rather than spend the entire day lounging about, I managed to convince myself that going to an activist gathering at French Meadow Bakery was a much better use of my afternoon.  And indeed it was.

In my recent ‘redefining and exploring my priorities and path in life’ exercise, I began thinking about what causes I truly want to spend my time, energy, and money on- I care about a plethora of issues, and those three things are finite, so a bit of focus is necessary to be any kind of effective.  Out of the throng of potential causes, I realized that sustainable agriculture and food is far and away the issue about which I am most passionate.  I can talk for hours on the thing; try me some time.

Within a day or so of this clarification/realization I received an email invitation to Food and Water Watch‘s activist gathering on the Farm Bill.  Perfect timing, I thought.  Thanks for the clear direction for once, universe.

I don’t know details about the upcoming Farm Bill, but hope to in the coming days read a bit more of the summaries of the various sections (the entire document is many hundred if not many thousand pages long).  What I do know is that the Farm Bill is the defining policy document for pretty much anything food related.  School lunch programs.  Organic certification.  Factory farming.  Food stamps.  Local food initiatives.  You name it.  The activist gathering convinced me of this even further, and solidified even further sustainable farming and food issues as the natural centerpoint of my activist and energy.

Food is something I can get excited about.  Something that almost anyone can get excited about in fact.  Everyone eats, many people garden, and almost everyone I know has at least one family member that farms.  Food and farming are relevant, are compelling, are essential.

In the coming weeks I hope to host a Farm Bill action/education potluck, perhaps a series even?  What would you like to know about the Farm Bill?  What would make the decidedly unsexy policy compelling, interesting, even fun?

Leave a Reply

