A brief reflection on the residue of my year without SWM authors.

I find that I’m angry when I get to the end of a poem I love on Poetry Daily to discover it was written by a man.  This anger is unfounded, and often I don’t research far enough to see if the author is privileged in other spheres.  But I am immediately, somewhat irrationally, filled with a jolt of hostility.  How can something so beautiful be written by someone privileged?  Why do I enjoy it?  Should I feel guilty for doing so?

Just questions, musings to hold for now and discuss when possible.

The poem today was particularly lovely though- ‘The Previous Tenants’ by Rodney Jones.

(just as an fyi: Rodney is in fact culturally privileged in nearly every way, apart from class perhaps as he is originally from rural Alabama)

Leave a Reply

