A beautiful insight on a constant conflict.

As with most individuals in the world, I have a number of internal worldview conflicts.  One amongst them, however, rises to the top of both my meaningful conversations and my quiet musings: should I stay in the city to do change work that may affect a greater number of people while recognizing I only have so much control over my own sustainability/simplicity because of the urban systems in place, or do I move to a rural intentional community where I might have a smaller scope of change impact but can live very sustainably, creatively, and off the grid?

One of the main arguments against the latter is that it often can be seen as running away from ‘real life’ (whatever that is).  Which is why I so greatly appreciated this piece from the Twin Oaks website.  I just might have to consider attending their conference over Labor Day weekend to learn more…

 

Leave a Reply

