Well friends, I made it to my third state. I had meant to celebrate my entry into Wisconsin (my second state) with a silly little video, but my phone wouldn’t post it. So instead here I am enjoying a delicious breakfast just across the river from Main Street in Galena.

image

It’s been two weeks since Sarah drove me up to Itasca State Park, and I’m both more and less changed than I might have expected to be. No grand flashes of insight on the meaning of life – in general or my own particular existence – yet. No red carpet unfolding of my future path. But I have discovered edges in myself to lean against or push beyond as the circumstance demands. More importantly, I am beginning to believe that I am Enough.
The particular framing of Enough had not entered my mind until my breakfast at Otto’s Place this morning, a lovely little place recommended by my gracious Couch Surfing host, David. Each table at Otto’s Place has a card explaining how the restaurant came to be, and their philosophy of Enough:
“That’s a wish that has been handed down from other generations. When we said ‘I wish you enough’ we were wanting the other person to have a life filled with just enough good things to sustain them.”
I am Enough. I have Enough. It is Enough to ride 60 miles through the hills of Southern Wisconsin and stay at a hotel in Prairie du Chien. It is Enough to know that I have a good thing going with Sarah, and that we need some room to breathe and grow. It is Enough to witness all my chakras and layers of self, and to be in them as they are. Simply Enough.
May you find and know and be Enough, for this moment and day and terrifying, wondrous life.

2 thoughts on “Finding Enough in Galena.

  1. I’m so glad you liked Otto’s Place! I, too, enjoyed reading about the philosophy of ‘Enough’ the first time I ate there. Safe travels from your Galena CouchSurfing Host! And now I have another fellow cyclist’s blog to follow!

Leave a Reply

